Sree Vahini Best Engineering College


  • Home
  • »
  • Governing Body


   The Governing Body shall ensure compliance with the statutes, ordinances and provisions regulating the institution and its framework of governance and subject to these shall take all final decisions on matters of fundamental concern to the institution.

Composition of Governing Body:

Number Category Nature
5 Members Management Trust or management as per the constitution or bylaws, with the Chairman or President/Director as the chairperson
2 Members Teachers of the College Nominated by the Principal based on seniority by rotation
1 Member Educationist or industrialist Nominated by the management
1 Member Administrative staff of the college Administrative officer/senior Administrative staff
1 Member State Government nominee Academician not below the rank of professor or State Government official of Directorate of Higher Education/State Council of Higher Education
1 Member University Nominee Nominated by the University
1 Member Principal of College Ex-Officio


   The Governing Body shall be reconstituted every three years except in the case of UGC nominee who shall have a term of five years.

Functions of the Governing Body:

   Governing Council shall have powers to function subject to the existing provision in the bye-laws of Sree Vahini Institute of Science and Technology and rules lay down by the state government/ affiliated university. The following are the functions of Governing Council:

  1. Evolves the Vision, Mission and Objectives of the College and ensures that they are achieved
  2. Ensures Total Academic and Administrative Autonomies for achieving Short Term and Long Term objectives of the Institute.
  3. Governing Council makes all policy decisionsGuide the college while fulfilling the objectives for which the college has been granted autonomous status.
  4. Institute scholarships, fellowships, studentships, medals, prizes and certificates on the recommendations of the Academic Council
  5. Approve new programmes of study leading to degrees and/or diplomas.
  6. All recruitments of Teaching Faculty/Principal shall be made by the Governing
  7. Body/state government as applicable in accordance with the policies laid down by the UGC and State Government from time to time.
  8. To approve annual budget of the college before submitting the same at the UGC.
  9. Perform such other functions and institute committees, as may be necessary and deemed fit for the proper development of the college.
  10. It administers the physical resources of the Institute.
  11. Reviews the performance of the Institute and guide to function effectively to Achieve Excellence in Academics, Research and Industry collaborations.
  12. Ensures the Regulatory Compliance of all the decisions by the concerned Authorities like the Principal, HoD and other Officers of the Institute in all matters of fundamental concern.
  13. Ratifies and resolves the minutes of Academic Council, Board of Studies, Finance Committee and IQAC
  14. Reviews to apply Accreditations of different regulatory bodies (NBA, NAAC, UGC and ABET etc.)
  15. Monitors on the effective functioning of different non statutory committees of the college
  16. Encourages and gives directions to apply for funds from different funding agencies


   Meetings of the Governing Body shall be held at least twice a year.

Governing Body Members:

S. No. Name of the Member Details of the Member Designation
1 Sri P. Venkateswara Rao Chairman,
2 Sri V. Subrahmanyam, Secretary,
3 Sri P. Nageswara Rao, Correspondent,
4 Sri M. Kishore Babu, Treasurer,
5 Sri K.Seshagiri Rao, Director,
6 Dr. M. Vijaya Saradhi Principal,
Government Polytechnic College, Vijayawada
State Government Nominee
7 Dr. M. Nageswara Rao Professor of EEE
University college of Engineering Kakinada(UCEK),Kakinada.
University Nominee
8 Dr. E. Srinivasa Reddy Professor of CSE & Dean Academics
Dr Y. S. R. ANU college of Engineering and Technology, Guntur
9 Sri B. Rajasekar Executive Director,
Krishna Engineering Works, Vijayawada
10 Dr. K. V. Panduranga Rao HoD, CSE Member
(Principal’s Nominee)
18 Mr. K. Kiran Kumar Dean - Academics Member
(Principal’s Nominee)
19 Dr. R. Nagendra Babu Principal Ex-Officio

Governing Body Meeting Minutes:

Date of Meeting Minutes of Meeting
15-09-2023 Click Here for 1st Governing Body Meeting Minutes